Annual Report 2019

Preface to the Annual Report 2019

© Fraunhofer FHR / Uwe Bellhäuser

Dear Friends and Partners of Fraunhofer FHR,
Dear Readers,

2019 was a year to celebrate for our institute: The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft celebrated its 70th anniversary, Fraunhofer FHR its 10th and the Cognitive Radar Department its 5th. These three anniversaries are backed by true success stories, which we celebrated in style together with our guests from the fields of science, defense, business and politics at our 9th Wachtberg-Forum (see here). Another highlight in our calendar featured the Inspector General of the Federal Armed Forces visiting our campus for the first time ever. On July 5, we had the honor of presenting the institute as well the capabilities of our TIRA and GESTRA space radar systems to General Eberhard Zorn.

We also have news to report on an organizational level. On June 1, 2019, Dr. Christine Mauelshagen became the Head of the newly created staff unit Strategy and Organizational Development. Continuous strategic work is becoming increasingly relevant in view of our strong growth and Dr. Mauelshagen supports the institute management in these important matters.

On October 19, Fraunhofer FHR collaborated in the commemoration of an event that made history not only for the world of radar. The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), the world's largest professional association of engineers, honored the work of the radar pioneer Christian Hülsmeyer as an IEEE Milestone. A commemorative plaque was unveiled after a ceremony with Cologne's mayor Henriette Reker (see here) at Cologne's Hohenzollern Bridge, where Hülsmeyer first presented his »Telemobiloskop« in 1904.

Our top-notch research achievements once again received international recognition last year. We are excited about the NATO SET Early Career Award for Prof. Dr. Daniel O'Hagan and the IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications for our former colleague Richard Klemm. The research by two of Prof. Knott's students at RWTH Aachen was also honored: Giovanni D’Apice received the AFCEA Student Award 2019 and Jannik Springer the ARGUS Award 2019. In addition, the colleagues Andrej Konforta, Dr. Christos Liontas, and Dr. Thomas Bertuch received the 2019 IEEE Antennas and Propagation Ulrich L. Rohde Innovative Conference Paper Award on Antenna Measurements and Applications to round off the year.

Last year, our scientists continued to push ahead with our research projects. In this annual report we would like to present an exciting selection of projects from the six business units.

We hope you enjoy it!

Peter Knott und Dirk Heberling